World Potato Congress Seeks Nominees


The President of the World Potato Congress Inc. (WPC) Mr. David Thompson, Prince Edward Island, Canada, and the Chairman of the Awards Committee, Mr. Tamas Houlihan, Antigo Wisconsin, have announced that nominations are now being called for the 2018 World Potato Congress Awards.

The World Potato Congress Awards are an important and prestigious event on the international potato scene. They recognize individual lifetime contributions to the potato industry.  Typically four outstanding individuals are recognized, during the awards presentation ceremony, at the tri-annual Congress.  The next Congress will be held in Cusco, Peru, May 27-31, 2018.

Written nominations are invited for submission.  The application form and submission instructions appear on the World Potato Congress website:


Applications close on November 30th, 2017.

Prominent recipients who have received past awards include J. R. Simplot and Harrison McCain.  The recipients of the 2015 Awards, which were presented at the Congress in Yanqing, China, are: Dr. Kevin Clayton-Green, Australia; Dr. Neil C. Gudmestad, USA; Kees van Arendonk, Netherlands; Albert T. Wada, USA; and Dr. Yili Chen, China.

For further information:

Tamas Houlihan
WPC Awards Committee